Discover the observatory

© 2021 Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg | Webdesign et développement Alchimy.

Strasbourg astronomical Observatory (ObAS)  is an Observatory, a faculty of the Strasbourg University (Unistra),   and a  mixed research unit  from  CNRS  and Unistra. As such, ObAS provides services to the entire astronomical community, contributes to teaching, conducts research activities in many fields of astrophysics and takes part in public outreach. It also preserves rich heritage collections that it seeks to promote.

National Observation Services

As an Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers (OSU), under INSU supervision, ObAS participates in several National Observation Services (SNO), provided in particular by the assistant astronomers and astronomers of the CNAP corps.

  • It hosts the Strasbourg Astronomical Data Centre (CDS), labelled “Research Infrastructure” (IR) by the Ministry of Higher Education and Research. The CDS provides added-value services for reference astronomy data to support open science, and contributes to the global astronomy data infrastructure of the Virtual Observatory.
  • It actively participates in the XMM-Newton Survey Science Centre (SSC-XMM) which valorises space data in the high-energy domain.

ObAS supports several other SNOs: SVOM, Athena, Large spectroscopic Surveys with WEAVE, Gaia, and the Besançon Galaxy model.

Teaching

The Strasbourg Astronomical Observatory is an independent faculty of the University of Strasbourg and has the status of an internal school. It manages the astrophysics course (M2) of the Master’s degree in Physics, which is hosted by the Faculty of Physics and Engineering.
For its students, it has a pedagogical observation platform, installed in one of its domes and composed of two coupled 36cm telescopes for imaging and spectroscopy.

The Observatory’s teachers also give lectures in other faculties of the University.

Research activities

As a research laboratory under the supervision of the CNRS and Unistra, ObAS’ mission is to contribute to the progress of knowledge in astronomy and astrophysics through:

  • the acquisition and production of observational data and simulations
  • the development and exploitation of data processing techniques
  • the development of theoretical tools

The laboratory is structured in two scientific teams:

  • the GALHECOS team
  • the CDS scientific team

Its researchers and lecturers work on various themes: stellar physics, compact objects and black holes, and their extreme environment, the interstellar medium, nearby galaxies, including the Milky Way, the evolution of galaxies, and the cosmology and reionisation of the Universe.

Heritage and public outreach

Located on the historical campus of the University of Strasbourg, the current Observatory was built in 1881, during the German period. It was then equipped with important observation facilities, including a large refractor, today the 3rd largest in France, which is still used for public observation sessions, in partnership with the Jardin des Sciences (JdS) of the University of Strasbourg. The observatory also preserves a rich heritage of astronomical instruments, objects and ancient works.

The Jardin des Science runs the Strasbourg Planetarium, which has been located in one of the observatory buildings since 1986 and which it ran directly until 2008. A new planetarium is currently under construction.


More on the Observatory

• at University of Strasbourg
• on Wikipedia and Wikimedia (Photos)
• in the Strasbourg University newspaper
• on Facebook

Découvrir l’Observatoire

© 2021 Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg | Webdesign et développement Alchimy.

L’Observatoire astronomique de Strasbourg (ObAS) est un Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers, composante de  l’Université de Strasbourg (Unistra) et  Unité Mixte de Recherche du CNRS  et de l’Unistra. L’ObAS mène ainsi à la fois des activités de service pour l’ensemble de la communauté astronomique, d’enseignement, de recherche dans de multiples domaines de l’astrophysique et de diffusion des sciences. Il possède par ailleurs de riches collections patrimoniales qu’il cherche à valoriser.

Services Nationaux d’Observation

Comme Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers (OSU), sous tutelle INSU, l’ObAS participe à plusieurs Services Nationaux d’Observation (SNO), assurés en particulier par les astronomes-adjoints et astronomes du corps du CNAP.

  • Il héberge le Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS), labellisé « Infrastructure de Recherche » (IR) par le Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche. Le CDS est le service de référence mondial pour l’archivage, partage et valorisation des données astronomiques.
  • Il participe activement au Survey Science Centre d’XMM-Newton (SSC-XMM) qui valorise les données spatiales dans le domaine des hautes énergies.

L’ObAS apporte un soutien à plusieurs autres SNOs: SVOM, Athena, Grands Relevés Spectroscopiques avec WEAVE, Gaia, et le modèle de la Galaxie de Besançon.

Enseignement

Composante à part entière de l’Université de Strasbourg, avec un statut d’école interne, l’Observatoire astronomique de Strasbourg gère le parcours astrophysique (M2) du Master Physique spécialité Astrophysique, hébergé par la Faculté de Physique et Ingénierie.
Il dispose pour ses étudiants d’une plateforme pédagogique d’observation, installée dans l’une de ses coupoles et composée de deux télescopes couplés de 36cm permettant de faire de l’imagerie et de la spectroscopie.

Les enseignants-chercheurs de l’observatoire assurent aussi leur service d’enseignement dans d’autres composantes de l’Université.

Activités de recherche

En tant qu’unité de recherche, avec tutelle le CNRS et l’Unistra, l’ObAS a pour mission de contribuer aux progrès de la connaissance en astronomie et astrophysique par:

  • l’acquisition et production de données d’observation et simulations
  • le développement et exploitation de techniques de traitements de données
  • l’élaboration d’outils théoriques

Le laboratoire est structuré en deux équipes scientifiques:

  • l’équipe GALHECOS 
  • l’équipe scientifique du CDS.

Ses chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs travaillent sur des thématiques variées: physique stellaire, objets compacts et trous noirs, et leur environnement extrême, milieu-interstellaire, galaxies proches, y compris la Voie Lactée, évolution des galaxies, et cosmologie et réionisation de l’Univers.

Patrimoine et diffusion de la culture scientifique

Situé sur le campus historique de l’Université de Strasbourg, l’Observatoire actuel a été construit en 1881, pendant la période allemande. Il a alors été doté de moyens d’observations importants, dont une grande lunette, aujourd’hui la 3e plus grande de France, encore utilisé pour des séances d’observation publiques, en partenariat avec le Jardin des Sciences (JdS) de l’Université de Strasbourg. L’observatoire conserve également un riche patrimoine d’instruments astronomiques,  objets et ouvrage anciens.

Le Jardin des Science gère le Planétarium de Strasbourg situé, depuis 1986, dans l’un des bâtiments de l’observatoire et dont il s’est directement occupé jusqu’en 2008. Un nouveau planétarium est en cours de construction.


Plus d’informations sur l’Observatoire