Accueil   >   Recherche   >   Séminaires et réunions   >   Séminaires : High-mass X-ray binaries in nearby galaxies

High-mass X-ray binaries in nearby galaxies

Le 21 juin 2019
De 10h30 à 12h00

Jun Yang

University of Utah

The overall objective of my research is to improve understanding of the properties and structures of high-mass X-ray binary (XRB) pulsars, by bringing together a large set of observations spanning the observable parameter space in spin period, luminosity, and environment. To reach this goal we analyze and compare all available and relevant (~17 years) observations of the Small Magellanic Cloud (SMC), Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC), and Irregular Galaxy IC 10, from 3 space astronomy satellites: X-ray Multi-Mirror Mission-Newton (XMM-Newton), the Chandra X-ray Observatory and Rossi X-ray Timing Explorer (RXTE), to explore the time evolution of the X-ray pulsars. This time-domain library includes high time-resolution light curves, periodograms, spectra, event lists, and complete histories of spin period derivatives, pulse fraction, etc., for each pulsar. Furthermore, IC 10 and M33 are explored as a comparison sample to study the star formation. Especially IC 10 is the closest known starburst galaxy and its well-constrained starburst age of 10 Myrs makes it a unique resource for studying the origin and evolution of compact objects. A NuSTAR survey of M33 was conducted to study the distribution of XRB accretion states in an actively star-forming environment.  I will discuss the details about their compact object types and accretion states using NuSTAR color-intensity and color-color diagrams.

Search & Find
déc. 3 2020

Gaia est une mission ambitieuse de l'Agence Spatiale Européenne (ESA)) visant à cartographier notre...

mai 13 2020

The ObAS seminars have moved online, every Friday morning at 10:30 here The program of the coming...

févr. 25 2021

Un poste de maître de conférences est ouvert au concours à l’Observatoire astronomique de...

déc. 15 2020

Comme la plupart des galaxies spirales, la Voie lactée a en son centre une condensation d'étoiles à...

oct. 9 2020

Le Globe de Coronelli de Strasbourg restauré sera inauguré officiellement (sur invitation) ce...

sept. 19 2020

En raison de la situation sanitaire, il n'y aura pas de visites de la Grande Coupole de...